The 10 most stylish cities in the world

To mark the start of fashion month in New York, Caroline Issa, the publisher and fashion director of Tank magazine, reveals her favourite cities for style.

New York

1. New York: a perfect start
As fashion month kicks off in the Big Apple, the city prepares for an influx of fashion editors and buyers. So, where are the most stylish places to go? For shopping, try Maryam Nassir Zadeh (mnzstore.com), a multi-brand fashion boutique near Chinatown. ChaChaMatcha (chachamatcha.com) in Chelsea sells wonderful turmeric matchas. For dinner, head to the Nomad Hotel (thenomadhotel.com) and order the truffle chicken. Work it off at Soul Cycle (soul-cycle.com).

Hong Kong

2. Hong Kong: market trawls
Hong Kong is stepping up its fashion credentials with more spaces dedicated to local talent, such as Yat Pit (the duo trained at Central Saint Martins). I always visit Little Bao (little-bao.com) for its delicious nibbles and Social Place (socialplace.hk) for their noodles. In Central, artistic hub PMQ (pmq.org.hk) houses stalls run by local brands. For classic menswear, visit Ascot Chang (ascotchang.com/en/home) and Kapok (ka-pok.com/webshop) for streetwear. Stay at Upper House, which has rooms perched high on the hills overlooking the harbour.

Istanbul

3. Istanbul: east meets west
Experience the most minimalist of Turkish hammams and spend an afternoon at the Kilic Ali Pasa Hamam (kilicalipasahamami.com). One of the best fashion accessory exports to come out of Istanbul is Sanayi 313 (sanayi313.com), makers of gorgeously embroidered slippers. Get lost in the streets of the Cukurcuma neighbourhood where small antique shops sit side-by-side, and spy collections from MehryMu (mehrymu.com/en) and dressmaker Gul Hurgel (gulhurgel.com).

Arles

4. Arles: visual stimuli
Home of Christian Lacroix, the city of Arles in France has become the “Paris” of the South. Alessandro Michele has chosen Alyscamps in Arles as his next Resort show destination this summer, and the philanthropist Maja Hoffmann’s Luma Foundation (luma-arles.org) will be housed in a mountain-like tower designed by Frank Gehry, due to open this year. The Rencontres d’Arles (rencontres-arles.com) is one of Europe’s biggest photography festivals, showcasing the best in fashion images. Stay at L’Hôtel Particulier, a charming 18th-century residence turned hotel.

Paris

5. Paris: mega brand chic
From mega brands Dior, Chanel and Hermes to small independent stores in the Marais such as the Broken Arm (the-broken-arm.com/en), Paris is filled with style. Toraya (toraya-group.co.jp/toraya-paris) is a favourite fashion week pitstop for Japanese sweets in between show-going. The Bristol Hotel has huge bathrooms and the spa does Tata Harper facials.

Marrakech

6. Marrakech: Ysl lovers
Thanks to the recent opening of the Musée Yves Saint Laurent, thousands of fashion lovers are flocking to one of Saint Laurent’s favourite cities. Walk around Palais de la Bahia (palais-bahia.com/en) for colour inspiration, and for more stimulation visit the Jardin Majorelle (jardinmajorelle.com) where Saint Laurent and his partner, Pierre Bergé, lived. For the fashionably vegan, head to restaurant La Famille Marrakech (00 212 5243 85295). Stay at La Mamounia, a timeless classic.

Milan

7. Milan: artsy cappuccinos
There is a new energy in Milan. The Fondazione Prada (fondazioneprada.org/visit/visit-milan) is a big contributor to the buzz; its Wes Anderson-designed Bar Luce is Instagram heaven. Cafe Marchesi on via Montenapoleone (pasticceriamarchesi.com/en.html) is one of the best sweet shops in the world and Bice (bicemilano.it) is where supermodels eat pasta with abandon after a day of catwalking. Stay at charming 10 Corso Como, set above the fashion boutique of the same name.

Tulum

8. Tulum: Mexican downtime
You’ll find more fashion designers than you can shake a stick at in Tulum. This is where Jason Wu, Charlotte Tilbury and Alice Temperley go to recuperate from fashion week. Pop into Caravana (caravana.land/tulum) for clothes that take on the dusky colours of the sunset. For supper, Hartwood (hartwoodtulum.com) uses fresh local produce to create delicious dishes. Stay at Hotel Esencia, a haven of calm and celeb-spotting.

Street Style: Day 5 - LFW September 2017

9. London: street style
Fashion designers still rummage through the stalls at Portobello Market and the nearby Found and Vision vintage shop (@FoundAndVision). Visit LNCC in Hackney (ln-cc.com) for a retail experience in a converted garage. Have lunch at Rochelle Canteen in Shoreditch (rochelleschool.org/rochellecanteen) and spot designers Giles Deacon and Luella Bartley. Stay at the Beaumont – and look up! You’ll see Antony Gormley’s sculpture room.

Seattle

10. Seattle: laid-back vibes
I spent a lot of time in Seattle when I was working with Nordstrom, the North Star of Style on the West Coast. I love visiting Store 1 of the Nordstrom flagship, which stocks US brands including Proenza Schouler, Prabal Gurung and Jason Wu, but also Totokaelo (totokaelo.com), a boutique with a great selection of homeware. An insider’s secret? Gardeners’ haven Niche Outside (nicheoutside.com). Stay at the very first Ace Hotel.

  • Share on Tumblr

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *